Notice

The forum is in read only mode.

Floating shelf brace and Jigsaw vs Circular saw

kish254 created the topic: Floating shelf brace and Jigsaw vs Circular saw

Hi Y'all

1st off thank you to the woodworkweb admin for adding me to this site. I'm very new to woodworking n thinking of picking it up as a new skill. my first project is to make my own platform bed. i have the design with a "floating" shelf(see pic). Question is what kind of brace would i use to attach it to the bed,preferably on the underside, without any visible bolts n such on the topside.
And also looking to purchase a power saw, which would u recommend?
Attachments:

Derek replied the topic: Floating shelf brace and Jigsaw vs Circular saw

Hi Kish and welcome to the Web !

This is a real challenge for sure. You will need something removable for disassembly to enable you to move the bed if there is need but also makes a strong connection when assembled.

If I am seeing this in the proper perspective, I would say Two pieces of bracing from the bed across to the side piece could be a choice if the floor is fairly level.
There are other methods that you can consider but most would have to be a combination of joinery. Choices are Biscuits and strapping, Dowels and strapping and possibly pocket holes and strapping. One other combination comes to mind and that is tongue and groove which is only in the middle section of the two mating surfaces but does not go all the way across them as it would show on the ends and strapping of course.
As you have probable figured out by now is that to align the two edges there should be some form of joinery that allows them to be flush with each other and no joinery can be seen. The strapping or braces underneath, should be utilized to keep the joint together as well as adding some strength to the joint.