Top Banner

Free Catalog

Follow Us

Notice

The forum is in read only mode.

New Machinery, Suggestions for Benches & Tables

Timbo created the topic: New Machinery, Suggestions for Benches & Tables

My first post so I hope this is in the right place?

A total beginner to woodwork, my school woodwork teacher noted on my school report 'Although Timothy is keen and interested in the subject I do count his fingers before and after class, just in case', I have jumped 'off the deep end' so to speak. You see, I sort of bought a big wooden boat and have been restoring her for the last two years. Although my woodwork has improved a little from my schooldays I should point out that the boatyard has a sign which reads 'If Tim is waving at you he's probably nailed his other hand to the deck'.

Up until now I have only bought basic hand held power tools such as orbital sanders, plunge router and a very small portable table saw...the kind of tools I can set up on the river bank. Now that I'm moving onto restoring and making new internal structures on the boat such as the galley and a bar, of course, I decided to invest in a small 8'x7' workshop at home along with tools such as a larger (but still small) table saw, motorized router table, small band saw, pillar drill, sliding mitre saw and morticer so that I can make cabinets and the like at home and take them down to the boat for installation.

Now I have my shed and work bench and boxes full of new machinery some of which come with pressed metal stands which seem extremely flimsy comprising of 'L' shaped metal sections and enough nuts and bolts to build an aircraft carrier. My daft question is do I make up the flimsy stands (for things like the table saw) or do I make more rigid tables and benches for the machinery from wood? If so are there 'standard' heights that I should be making benches for things like the pillar drill and router table?

Sorry for the long preamble...