Top Banner

Follow Us

Notice

The forum is in read only mode.

lathe speed?

• sirboardsalot
  • sirboardsalot's Avatar Topic Author

sirboardsalot created the topic: lathe speed?

hello is their any type of ratio for size of bowl/spindle to rpms? such as an 8" bowl should be turned around 1000rpm after roughing?? from what i remember my lathe goes from 500 to 2850rpms. now i usually rough at the lowest speed. i bought some new sorbys and now i can get some pretty good shaving, on an 8" bowl i am working on now. now i can't exactally tell what speed i am at but i put it around 1/3 of full speed and seems ok. should i be faster or slower or is it kinda like an aquired skill? i am kinda new to turning but look to get into it a little more. also if anyone is intrested i bought some robert sorby tool on ebay that sears was getting rid of, some i got for more than half of retail. point #2 is i also just bought my first scroll chuck. i was going to go with the oneway talon but then i found a website in canada that sells the nova and supernova very cheap. i got the supernova, the #2 jaws that come with it 2 other sets of jaws(i can't remember which one) and the cole jaws for $224. from what i found on a lot of turning websites that is a good price.?
  • PERUTURNER

PERUTURNER replied the topic: Re: lathe speed?

Dear woodturner regarding the speed setup.for that size bowl around 800rpm then when you have the final shape increase up to 1100 at the most ED
regarding the chuck it is a very fair price well done if you need any help let me know at (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.) or (esarmiento.250x.com) :wink:
  • OldSoke

OldSoke replied the topic: Re: lathe speed?

There's a quick formula... dia x rpm ...this should ideally be between 6 and 9 max. Your 8" bowl @ 1k rpm = 8 ...well within the safe range.
Lathe speed is a faq