Top Banner

Follow Us

Notice

The forum is in read only mode.

Best wood for frame?

TigerFuYoung created the topic: Best wood for frame?

I am a beginner in the woodworking world. I have made a few bows, a pull up bar, a stool, and a table saw from an old circular saw. I am looking to step out of the beginner wood world of pine and poplar. Someone asked me to make them a pmirror frame for a 40x50 mirror, and i dont want to use a basic wood. I want to use purple heart but i think im going to destroy my tools on it. I need some recommendations for better woods. And what kind of finish should i use. I only use Danish oil because i always make stuff come out beautiful with it, but i would be interested to try other finishes.

colin replied the topic: Best wood for frame?

Sounds like you are making good progress TigerFu. For most woodworkers wanting to expand their tool line-up a table saw is probably the most often selected tool because it can do so many things. You can purchase new, or used and there are often some great deals on used ones, if you take you time and look around.

In terms of finishing Purple Heart, Danish oil or similar sounds just fine to me. There are tons of different products out there to choose from ... depending of course on what the item is used for, but a mirror would be perfect for that kind of an application.

Derek replied the topic: Best wood for frame?

Hi.
You have a few good choices in hard woods that you can consider. Maple, White Oak, Red Oak, Birch, Black Walnut just to name a few. I will guess that you are framing a 40" x 50" Mirror which is going to be a very heavy piece to secure to a wall or door so you should consider the size of the frame with this in mind as well.