Top Banner

Free Catalog

Follow Us

Notice

The forum is in read only mode.

rough or not rough wood ?

• stephane
  • stephane's Avatar Topic Author

stephane created the topic: rough or not rough wood ?

Hello there,

Since it's my first post let start by a small introduction :
Stephane is the name and am based in North Vancouver since 5 weeks (moving from France, so excuse the not so nice English !). I'm pretty new in woodworking, and I have trouble picking wood (a common beginner issue I think).

I bought some short 4x4 red oak "planks" at PJ White hardwoods.
I suppose there are considered rough wood because nothing is square and the surface is pretty rough. But since it was for my workbench it doesn't bother me at all.
I get then for $4.71/foot sq. No idea if this is a good price or not.

Now I have to build a bench (my wife has a long list of things to do...), so I am thinking about using this wood again. But I will need a more finished look.

How do you do that that ?

I believe one need a planner to make in square with plan surface. Right ?
I thought about cutting the "plank" square with my table saw, but I will lose a lot of wood no? And I still need to sand the surface to make it flat.

Any advice really appreciated !

Thx

Stephane
  • PaulD

PaulD replied the topic: Re: rough or not rough wood ?

Hello stephane! Welcome to the site and welcome to BC … Both Colin and I who own/operate the site are from British Columbia.

First, I’m going to have to ask what your wife’s bench is going to-be used for?
Indoor or Outdoor? We need to know a bit more before we can recommend a wood.

Yes, your correct that a wood planer is the best way to square the surface of the a piece of wood, while wasting as little wood as possible. You can use a table saw and many people do if a planer isn’t available. Just make sure you have a good fence and blade on the table saw if you want to get a good square.

colin replied the topic: Re: rough or not rough wood ?